Free trial
version

IPG Wohlrab, Landeck & Cie.

IPG Wohlrab, Landeck & Cie. counts on Polysun: A reliable overview of all variants at all times for geothermal concepts:

Pictures: ©IPG Wohlrab, Landeck & Cie.

A new construction project is closely linked to the approval of subsidies. Why simulation software is indispensable in conjunction with the use of geothermal energy.

The engineering planning company (IPG) Wohlrab, Landeck & Cie. creates “building concepts for the future”. IPG provides all HOAI services for new buildings, conversions, modernizations, maintenance and repairs, from basic evaluation to project supervision and support. The engineers always pursue one goal: to harmonize quality, sustainability and economic efficiency – which is sometimes not trivial to achieve.

This is particularly true when it comes to sustainable construction. It is virtually impossible to imagine new construction without it, but the investments required for this have reached horrendous heights. Quite apart from the fact that there is a lack of companies that can implement such solutions in a timely manner. In addition, although subsidies are available, the suitability of the construction project must be proven in great detail in order to receive them. In short: IPG relies on Polysun to achieve a result that is pleasing and reliable for all sides. In this way, the company provides valid information and protects clients from unpleasant surprises.

The challenge
The simulation focused on the construction of a new neighborhood and, in concrete terms, the construction of three apartment buildings as the first construction phase. These are to be supplied with renewable energy in order to qualify for subsidies – an essential prerequisite for the project. To this end, preliminary geological investigations were carried out in which geothermal probes were favored for the houses to cover the heating load. A cold local heating network was then to be realized from these probes. In detail: The planned geothermal probes serve as a central heat source with a respective drilling depth of 99 meters, the maximum permissible depth.

The distance between the probes was to be seven meters and the three buildings were to be supplied via a central local heating network at a low temperature level (cold local heating). In addition, the installation of decentralized heat pumps in the individual buildings was planned for space heating by means of underfloor heating and for domestic hot water heating as a fresh water station. “A particular challenge in this planning was that the space for the individual probes was limited from the outset. We always had to take this into account, so that this simulation primarily had the character of a well-founded feasibility study with very different variants,” says Adrian Gebhard, an engineer working for IPG.

Solution
After the first test drillings were carried out in close cooperation with the geological teams, the engineer simulated the first variants with Polysun. In the course of this work, Adrian Gebhard quickly realized “that the planned 20 probes would not be enough to fully cover the annual heating energy requirement.” This first preliminary variant immediately gave rise to another important question: how can the annual heating energy requirement for all three buildings still be covered? The following is also important when using probes: if they are laid tightly, the ground gradually cools down over the years. This cooling can be counteracted by regenerating the ground in the summer months with the heat generated by the active cooling of the associated buildings. This was taken into account in the further simulation. The higher the number of probes, the more intensive the regeneration effort must be, which in turn is reflected in the costs.

Result
“We were able to run through countless variants with Polysun, so that we had concrete clarity very early on about what was possible and what was not for this new construction project. This was an indispensable decision-making aid, especially in view of the tight requirements regarding subsidies. This would not have been possible without the simulation,” says expert Gebhard, describing the result.

For example, the regeneration of the probes using a solar thermal system in the form of vacuum tubes was investigated. However, the simulation quickly showed that the costs would exceed the budget. Another variant – flat-plate collectors instead of vacuum tubes – was also outside the possible cost framework.

Conclusion:
The yield of the geothermal probes is very limited due to the official regulations on the maximum permissible heat extraction rate. Supplying the property exclusively via just 20 geothermal probes without additional regeneration of the probe field is just as impossible as regeneration via passive cooling alone.

Project cornerstones

At a glance

  • Engineering planning company (IPG) Wohlrab, Landeck & Cie
  • Sector: Service provider (general planner)
  • Location: Aschersleben, Saxony-Anhalt

The challenges

  • Validated proof of funding essential for new construction project
  • Geothermal probes planned – but quantity limited
  • Project requires a reliable range of variants as a feasibility study

Product

Polysun Designer

Result with software Polysun

  • Realization of a wide range of options with reliable information
  • Always keeping an eye on both the cost framework and the planning alternatives
  • Clear proof of feasibility in each case

Gallery

Get in touch

contact

Kostenlose
Testversion

IPG Wohlrab, Landeck & Cie.

IPG Wohlrab, Landeck & Cie. setzt auf Polysun bei einem Projekt mit Erdwärme: Alle Varianten jederzeit zuverlässig im Blick!

 

Bilder: ©IPG Wohlrab, Landeck & Cie.

Ein Neubauprojekt ist eng mit der Bewilligung von Fördergeldern verknüpft. Warum Simulationssoftware im Zusammenspiel mit der Nutzung von Erdwärme unverzichtbar ist.

Die Ingenieurplanungsgesellschaft (IPG) Wohlrab, Landeck & Cie. erstellt „Baukonzepte für die Zukunft“. Von der Grundlagenermittlung bis zur Objektüberwachung und -betreuung übernimmt IPG alle Leistungen der HOAI für Neubauten, Umbauten, Modernisierungen, Instandhaltungen und Instandsetzungen. Dabei verfolgen die Ingenieure immer ein Ziel: Qualität, Nachhaltigkeit und Wirtschaftlichkeit in Einklang zu bringen – was mitunter nicht trivial zu realisieren ist.

Dies gilt insbesondere für das Thema nachhaltiges Bauen. Dieses ist aus der Neubaupraxis faktisch nicht mehr wegzudenken, aber die dafür notwendigen Investitionen haben horrende Höhen erreicht. Ganz abgesehen davon, dass es an Unternehmen mangelt, die solche Lösungen zeitnah umsetzen können. Darüber hinaus locken zwar Fördergelder, doch um diese zu erhalten, muss die Eignung des Bauvorhabens sehr detailliert nachgewiesen werden. Kurz: Um zu einem für alle Seiten erfreulichen und belastbaren Ergebnis zu kommen, setzt die IPG auf Polysun. Damit schafft das Unternehmen valide Informationen und bewahrt die Bauherren vor unliebsamen Überraschungen.

Herausforderung

Im Fokus der Simulation stand der Neubau eines Quartiers und im konkreten Verlauf der Bau von drei Mehrfamilienhäusern als erster Bauabschnitt. Diese sollen regenerativ versorgt werden, um Fördermittel in Anspruch nehmen zu können – eine unabdingbare Grundvoraussetzung für das Vorhaben. Hierzu fanden geologische Voruntersuchungen statt, bei denen für die Häuser Erdwärmesonden zur Deckung der Heizlast favorisiert worden waren. Ausgehend von diesen Sonden sollte dann ein kaltes Nahwärmenetz realisiert werden. Im Detail: Die geplanten Erdwärmesonden dienen als zentrale Wärmequelle mit einer jeweiligen Bohrtiefe von 99 Metern, der maximal zulässigen Tiefe.

Der Abstand der Sonden zueinander sollte sieben Meter betragen, die Versorgung der drei Gebäude war über ein zentrales Nahwärmenetz auf niedrigem Temperaturniveau (kalte Nahwärme) geplant. Zusätzlich war die Installation von dezentralen Wärmepumpen in den einzelnen Gebäuden für die Raumheizung mittels Fußbodenheizung und für die Trinkwassererwärmung als Frischwasserstation vorgesehen. „Eine besondere Herausforderung bei dieser Planung war, dass der Platz für die einzelnen Sonden von vornherein begrenzt war. Dies mussten wir stets berücksichtigen, so dass diese Simulation vor allem den Charakter einer fundierten Machbarkeitsstudie mit sehr unterschiedlichen Varianten hatte“, so Adrian Gebhard, als Ingenieur für IPG tätig.

Lösung

Nachdem in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den geologischen Teams erste Probebohrungen durchgeführt wurden, simulierte der Ingenieur mit Polysun erste Varianten. Im Zuge dieser Arbeiten stellte Adrian Gebhard schnell fest, „dass die geplanten 20 Sonden nicht ausreichen werden, um den jährlichen Heizenergiebedarf vollständig zu decken.“ Aus dieser ersten Vorvariante ergab sich sofort eine weitere wichtige Frage: Wie kann der jährliche Heizenergiebedarf für alle drei Gebäude trotzdem gedeckt werden? Außerdem ist beim Einsatz von Sonden folgendes wichtig: Werden sie dicht verlegt, kühlt das Erdreich im Laufe der Jahre allmählich aus. Dieser Abkühlung kann entgegengewirkt werden, indem das Erdreich in den Sommermonaten mit der Wärme regeneriert wird, die bei der aktiven Kühlung der zugehörigen Gebäude anfällt. Dies wurde in der weiteren Simulation berücksichtigt. Je höher die Anzahl der Sonden, desto intensiver muss der Regenerationsaufwand sein, was sich wiederum in den Kosten niederschlägt.

Ergebnis

„Wir konnten mit Polysun unzählige Varianten durchspielen, so dass wir sehr früh konkrete Klarheit hatten, was bei diesem Neubauprojekt möglich ist und was nicht. Gerade angesichts der engen Vorgaben bezüglich der Fördermittel eine unverzichtbare Entscheidungshilfe. Ohne die Simulation wäre das nicht möglich gewesen“, beschreibt Experte Gebhard das Ergebnis.

Zum Beispiel wurde die Regeneration der Sonden durch eine solarthermische Anlage in Form von Vakuumröhren untersucht. Hier zeigte die Simulation aber schnell, dass die Kosten den gesetzten Budgetrahmen übersteigen würden. Auch eine andere Variante – Flachkollektoren statt Vakuumröhren – bewegte sich außerhalb des möglichen Kostenrahmens.

Fazit:
Die Ertragsleistung der Erdwärmesonden ist aufgrund der behördlichen Vorgaben zur maximal zulässigen Wärmeentzugsleistung sehr begrenzt. Eine ausschließliche Versorgung der Liegenschaft über lediglich 20 Erdwärmesonden ohne zusätzliche Regeneration des Sondenfeldes ist ebenso wenig möglich wie eine Regeneration allein über passive Kühlung.

Hier müssen solarthermische Kollektoren eingesetzt oder alternativ die Anzahl der Sonden verdoppelt werden. „All diese präzisen Ergebnisse der Machbarkeitsstudie sind nur durch das Zusammenspiel von geologischer Untersuchung und Simulation möglich geworden. Ohne die Software wären wir dazu sicher nicht in der Lage gewesen“, resümiert Adrian Gebhard.

Eckpunkte

Auf einen Blick

  • Ingenieurplanungsgesellschaft (IPG) Wohlrab, Landeck & Cie
  • Branche: Dienstleister (Generalplaner)
  • Standort: Aschersleben, Sachsen-Anhalt

Herausforderungen

  • Validierter Fördermittelnachweis unabdingbar für Neubauprojekt
  • Erdsonden geplant – Quantität aber begrenzt
  • Projekt benötigt belastbare Variantenvielfalt als Machbarkeitsstudie

Produkt

  • Polysun Designer

Ergebnis mit Software Polysun

  • Realisierung unterschiedlichster Möglichkeiten mit belastbaren Informationen
  • Stets sowohl den Kostenrahmen als auch die Planungsalternativen im Blick
  • Klar die jeweilige Machbarkeit nachgewiesen

Galerie

JETZT BERATUNGSGESPRÄCH
ANFORDERN

ZUM KONTAKT