Overview

Clever use of simulation in BIM projects: This makes planning fun!

BIM (Building Information Modeling) raises high expectations for time and cost savings and for improved planning reliability. In a joint project by Amstein + Walthert with Vela Solaris and with the financial support of EnergieSchweiz, it was examined how concrete added value can be created in practice. A decisive success factor is the combination of simulation and BIM. The corresponding use case will be made publicly available through Bauen Digital Schweiz.

The demands on buildings are increasing: With consequences for planning

Today’s buildings must meet increasing requirements: They should offer a high level of comfort, convince with modern architecture and at the same time be energy-efficient and profitable to build and operate. For planning, this means that different disciplines must work closely together to ensure high planning quality. For this to succeed, two things are essential:

  • Define targets at an early stage:  From the client’s point of view, the objectives for the overall project must be available as early as possible and translated for the individual disciplines from architecture to building services engineering.
  • Enabling flexible changes to targets: If the requirements of a project change, the relevant information must be made available to the project team immediately and reliably.

This is the only way to ensure that deviations from targets are recognized by the project team and addressed at the lowest possible cost.

Simulation as a success factor for reliable planning

This is exactly where dynamic simulation of energy consumption and the satisfaction of demand by energy systems comes in. In time steps down to a second basis it is simulated how the planned energy system behaves during operation: From the heat stratification in the storage tank to the use of the solar system’s electricity production.

By means of simulation, it becomes clear at the push of a button whether a changed initial situation – caused by new requirements during the project – will lead to a deviation from the target specifications. If, for example, the usable roof area is reduced or the building use is changed, it can be simulated immediately what this means for energy consumption and energy system technology and whether adjustments are necessary. This increases the planning reliability and thus the confidence of the client in the planning.

But what does this mean in connection with BIM? What are the advantages of linking BIM with simulation? And how can processes and tools support this?

Amstein + Walthert and Vela Solaris are taking the next step. In a joint project, supported by EnergieSchweiz, the planning process was expanded in the area of model-based performance optimization and the Polysun simulation tool for process support was optimized.

Model-based performance optimization (MPO): BIM and simulation cleverly linked

The use case “Model-based Performance Optimization – MPO” from Amstein + Walthert combines the specialist areas of building simulation, energy system simulation and building services engineering planning. The main focus here is on enabling planning adjustments at any time and in frequent iterations – consistently across all specialist areas.

The MPO skilfully combines planning with simulation, taking advantage of the benefits of the BIM methodology: planners, simulation and BIM experts and project managers at Amstein + Walthert as well as experts for energy system simulation from Vela Solaris have contributed their knowledge to the MPO. The most efficient workflows and corresponding interfaces between different departments were jointly defined. This was done with the aim of enabling the seamless exchange of simulation results and thus increasing planning reliability. As a result, the MPO automatically links the required information and simulation results, documents changes and makes planning work in the BIM project more transparent. Frequent iterations of the planning and simulation results are now even easier to perform and facilitate efficient work for all project participants. 

The MPO has been successfully tested on projects currently in planning. The project team is convinced of the gained process efficiency and quality.

The Open-BIM-based use case will be published on Digital Switzerland and buildingSMART Switzerland. The MPO method is thus available to all interested parties, can be continuously improved and is easy to use.

Smart processes need smart tools

The simulation software Polysun from Vela Solaris has been successfully used by Amstein + Walthert for years for the simulation of energy systems for buildings and districts. In the joint project described here, Polysun was made BIM-capable and thus ideally supports the MPO process.

Open-BIM interfaces enable a largely automated data exchange. Simulation results are thus available to the project team at the desired location at any time and are transferred to the BIM model of the building services engineering. As a result, only time for planning has to be spent if deviations from the target values occur – the planning time is significantly reduced. Polysun also provides digital support for the evaluation of the achievement of building services engineering targets.

All simulation results remain transparently documented with Polysun BIM and provide added value right through to the operating phase – for simple quality assurance.

Energy system simulation is easy to use

With the new MPO and Polysun BIM from Vela Solaris, it will be much easier for simulation experts and planners to accurately design systems for today’s buildings. Relevant information is exchanged digitally. Tedious data quality checks are no longer necessary.

System support makes deviations from targets immediately transparent and the expertise can be directed to the essential points – for a high level of planning reliability that is convincing. This makes the use of simulation in planning a pleasure!

We would like to thank Amstein + Walthert for the great cooperation and EnergieSchweiz for the project support!

Would you like to learn more about simulation and BIM?

Find out how our Polysun software can support you in your next BIM project!

Übersicht

Simulation in BIM-Projekten clever nutzen: So macht Planung Freude!

BIM (Building Information Modelling) schürt hohe Erwartungen an Zeit- und Kostenersparnisse und an die Verbesserung der Planungsqualität. In einem gemeinsamen Projekt von Amstein + Walthert mit Vela Solaris und mit finanzieller Unterstützung von EnergieSchweiz wurde geprüft, wie ein konkreter Mehrwert für die Praxis geschaffen werden kann. Ein entscheidender Erfolgsfaktor liegt in der Verknüpfung von Simulation und BIM. Die entsprechenden Tools und Prozesse liegen vor und wurden anhand aktueller Bauvorhaben erfolgreich angewendet. Der entsprechende Use Case wird über Bauen Digital Schweiz öffentlich zugänglich.

Die Anforderungen an Gebäude steigen: mit Konsequenzen für die Planung

Gebäude von heute müssen steigenden Anforderungen genügen: Sie sollen hohen Komfort bieten, mit moderner Architektur überzeugen und gleichzeitig energieeffizient und profitabel gebaut und betrieben werden können. Für die Planung bedeutet dies, dass unterschiedlichen Disziplinen in enger Zusammenarbeit für eine hohe Planungsqualität sorgen müssen. Damit dies gelingt, braucht es zwei Dinge zwingend:

  • Zielvorgaben frühzeitig definieren:  Für das Gesamtprojekt müssen die Zielvorgaben aus Bauherrensicht möglichst frühzeitig vorliegen und für die einzelnen Fachbereiche von Architektur bis Gebäudetechnik übersetzt werden.
  • Änderungen von Zielvorgaben flexibel ermöglichen: Kommt es zu veränderten Anforderungen oder Rahmenbedingungen eines Projektes, müssen die relevanten Informationen dem Projektteam unmittelbar und zuverlässig zur Verfügung stehen.

Nur so kann in der Planung sichergestellt werden, dass Abweichungen von Zielvorgaben vom Projektteam erkannt und mit möglichst tiefen Kosten behoben werden können.

Simulation als Erfolgsfaktor für eine verlässliche Planung

Die dynamische Simulation bezüglich Energieverbrauch und der Bedarfsdeckung durch Energiesysteme setzt genau hier an. In Zeitschritten bis auf Sekundenbasis wird simuliert, wie sich das geplante Energiesystem im Betrieb verhält: von der Wärmeschichtung im Speicher bis zum Eigenverbrauch der Stromproduktion der Solaranlage.

Mittels Simulation wird per Knopfdruck klar, ob eine veränderte Ausgangslage zu einer Abweichung von den Zielvorgaben führt – von der frühen Ideenphase bis zur fortgeschrittenen Planung. Werden beispielsweise die Dachfläche reduziert oder die Gebäudenutzung verändert, können die Auswirkungen auf den Energieverbrauch und die Energiesystemtechnik sofort simuliert und gegebenenfalls technische Anpassungen vorgenommen werden. Dies erhöht die Planungssicherheit und somit das Vertrauen der Bauherrschaft in die Planung.

Was bedeutet dies nun aber im Zusammenhang mit BIM? Welche Vorteile entstehen durch die Verknüpfung mit der Simulation? Und welche Auswirkungen entstehen dadurch für Prozesse und Tools?

Amstein + Walthert und Vela Solaris gehen hier den nächsten Schritt. In einem gemeinsamen Projekt unterstützt von EnergieSchweiz wurde der Planungsprozess im Bereich der Modellbasierten Performance Optimierung und das Simulationstool Polysun gezielt genutzt und optimiert.

Modellbasierte Performance Optimierung (MPO): BIM und Simulation geschickt verknüpft

Der neues Use Case «Modellbasierte Performance Optimierung – MPO» von Amstein+Walthert vereint die Fachbereiche Gebäudesimulation, die Energiesystemsimulation und die Gebäudetechnikplanung. Hauptaugenmerk liegt dabei darauf, Planungsanpassungen jederzeit und in häufigen Iterationen zu ermöglichen – und zwar durchgängig über alle Fachbereiche hinweg.

Der MPO-Use Case verknüpft geschickt Planung mit Simulation und nutzt dabei die Vorteile der BIM-Methodik: Planer, Simulations- und BIM-Expertinnen und Projektleiter bei Amstein + Walthert sowie Experten für Energiesystemsimulation von Vela Solaris haben ihr Wissen in die MPO eingebracht. Die effizientesten Arbeitsabläufe und entsprechenden Schnittstellen zwischen verschiedenen Fachbereichen wurden gemeinsam definiert, um den nahtlosen Austausch von Simulationsergebnissen zu ermöglichen und damit die Planungssicherheit zu steigern. Als Ergebnis werden in der MPO die benötigten Informationen und Simulationsergebnisse automatisiert miteinander verknüpft, Änderungen dokumentiert und Planungsarbeiten im BIM-Projekt transparenter gemacht. Häufige Iterationen der Planungs- und Simulationsergebnisse sind damit noch einfacher möglich und erleichtern die effiziente Arbeit für alle Projektbeteiligten. 

Die MPO wurde anhand sich aktuell in Planung befindenden Projekten erfolgreich getestet. Das Projektteam ist von der gewonnenen Prozesseffizienz und -qualität überzeugt. Der auf Open-BIM basierende Use Case wird auf der Use Case Management Plattform von Bauen Digital Schweiz und buildingSMART Switzerland veröffentlicht. Die MPO-Methode steht somit allen Interessierten zur Verfügung, kann stetig verbessert und einfach angewendet werden.

Smarte Prozesse brauchen smarte Tools

Die Simulationssoftware Polysun von Vela Solaris wird von Amstein + Walthert schon seit Jahren gezielt für die Simulation von Energiesystemen für Gebäude und Quartiere genutzt. Im gemeinsamen Projekt wurde Polysun BIM-fähig gemacht und unterstützt somit ideal den MPO-Prozess.

Open-BIM Schnittstellen ermöglichen einen weitgehend automatisierten Datenaustausch. Simulationsergebnisse sind damit für das Projektteam jederzeit an der gewünschten Stelle verfügbar und werden ins BIM-Modell der Gebäudetechnik übergeben. Dadurch muss nur Zeit für die Planung aufgewendet werden, wenn Abweichungen von den Zielwerten eintreten – die Planungszeit reduziert sich deutlich. Die Auswertung der Erreichung von Zielvorgaben an die Gebäudetechnik wird von Polysun-BIM ebenfalls digital unterstützt.

Alle Simulationsergebnisse bleiben mit Polysun-BIM transparent dokumentiert und liefern einen Mehrwert bis in die Betriebsphase – für eine einfache Qualitätssicherung.

Simulation macht Freude in der Anwendung

Mit der neuen MPO und Polysun-BIM von Vela Solaris wird es für SimulationsexpertInnen und PlanerInnen viel einfacher, Anlagen für Gebäude von heute exakt zu planen. Relevante Informationen werden digital ausgetauscht und mühselige Prüfschritte der Datenqualität entfallen.

Systemunterstützt werden Zielabweichungen sofort transparent und die Expertise kann auf die wesentlichen Punkte gelenkt werden – für eine hohe Planungsqualität, die überzeugt. So macht die Anwendung von Simulation in der Planung Freude!

Wir danken Amstein + Walthert für die tolle Zusammenarbeit und EnergieSchweiz für die Projektunterstützung!

Möchten Sie mehr erfahren zum Thema Simulation und BIM?

Erfahren Sie welche Möglichkeit die Simulationssoftware Polysun bietet oder reservieren Sie Ihre Teilnahme an unserem kostenlosen Online-Webinar zum Thema Polysun-BIM: